Is this what some who give their blood, sweat, tears, life, love and etc to fight for the all mighty UFC have to look foward to?  Granted Diaz and McGregor made some good cash but it is no where near the pay scales of some other top sports organizations!  Plus the drop in pay from the main event fight to the next fights and so on is not only embarrassing but disgusting in my eyes!

The UFC was sold for over four billion dollars and UFC 202 was highly successful with attendance, prelims on national tv and probably close to record setting Pay Per View buys. But as you can see by the pay figures and salaries given to other winners and losers, we have a big problem on our hands.

Good luck training in the future to get better and improve fighters. You’ll do this only to be paid like shit for your efforts! fighters like Randa Markos making 14,000 thousands dollars after probably spending double that to train to compete at UFC 202 is a good example. She did lose her fight but should she have to go back to a full time job just to support her efforts to stay a TOP womens UFC fighter?

This is the case with the majority of the UFC roster but we as fans only see the wins and hands raised. The jump from fighter to fighter’s pay is a gamble in it’s self for these warriors who sacrifice all. For the young kids just coming aboard they really don’t understand and money isn’t important but fighting for the UFC is. That’s all good and glory is great but in a couple of years the odds are you still will be pumping gas 40 hours a week just to fight for nothing. 

​Salary or UFC 202:

Conor McGregor: $3 million (no win bonus)

def. Nate Diaz: $2 million

Anthony Johnson: $270,000 (includes $135,000 win bonus)

def. Glover Teixeira: $65,000

Donald Cerrone: $170,000 (includes $85,000 win bonus)

def. Rick Story: $41,000

Mike Perry: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)

def. Hyun Gyu Lim: $18,000

Tim Means: $62,000 (includes $31,000 win bonus)

def. Sabah Homasi: $12,000

Cody Garbrandt: $54,000 (includes $27,000 win bonus)

def. Takeya Mizugaki: $39,000

Raquel Pennington: $46,000 (includes $23,000 win bonus)

def. Elizabeth Phillips: $12,000

Artem Lobov: $26,000 (includes $13,000 win bonus)

def. Randa Markos: $14,000

Cortney Casey: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus)

def. Neil Magny: $47,000 

Lorenz Larkin: $78,000 (includes $39,000 win bonus)

def. Max Griffen: $10,000

Colby Covington: $42,000 (includes $21,000 win bonus)

def. Alberto Uda: $10,000

Marvin Vettori: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)

UFC 202 took place on Saturday, August 20th, 2016 at T-Mobile Arena Las Vegas, Nevada. The UFC Fight Pass prelims were aired at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT and the FOX Sports 1 prelims were aired at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, and the Main Card aired on PPV at 10 p.m. ET/7 P.M. PT.

Advertisements